Thames Street Oyster House

Can you believe that I haven’t actually dined here before?  Now that I have, it will be hard not to return.   They are not on open table, and they were absolutely packed, but we sneaked two seats at the bar.

The bartender was Jen and she very courteously let us try the wine before we picked our bottle.  We settled on the Lucky Star Pinot Noir from California.  It took a few minutes to open up so we could taste the berry fruit.  The cedar notes complimented our entire menu – especially this mouthwatering lobster mac and cheese.  The rich gouda cheese was creamy and coated the cavatappi (those adorable curly pasta with ridges).  There were large chunks of lobster all mixed together topped with bread crumbs and cooked in a cast iron skillet.

IMG_1971

The menu is small but very appetizing – we had a hard time choosing.  The salads sounded amazing and I couldn’t decide if I wanted oysters.  With a  little help from Jen, we eventually settled on the cast iron crab cake and the burger.

We were both surprised at how scrumptious their crab cake is.  IMG_4463First, this crab cake had very little filler and lots of crab, including huge jumbo lumps perfectly pan fried in a tiny cast iron skillet.  It was huge with  a great spicy and herbaceious flavor, it probably didn’t even need the remoulade.   Despite the yumminess, I would be remiss if I did not mention the lima beans and roasted cauliflower.  I didn’t have lima beans when I was a kid, but I am becoming a fan.  These were baked with brown sugar and became the best baked beans I have had in a long time.  The roasted cauliflower came with a  tasty aioli and offered a toothsome crunch.

The burger was great, too.  IMG_8685And despite my push for the beet and goat cheese salad, we ended up with the crispy salty fries.  We ordered it medium and it came a perfect warm pink medium; a juicy beef patty topped with aged cheddar, shredded lettuce and a garlic aioli all on top of a toasted brioche bun.  If you can’t tell, I love a good burger, but I couldn’t even finish my half.

There was absolutely no room for the enticing desert menu. If you haven’t been at this little gem on Thames Street in fells, please go.  But, if you are more than two – I suggest calling for reservations.

Thames Street Oyster House on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

